12 Persons in Surrey Receive Governor-General’s Awards

Twelve persons from the county of Surrey, have been presented with citations and plaques, for outstanding achievement in their communities.

They are: Kahielia Levy, Clover Angela Tobin and Verona Blair-O’Connor from St. Thomas; Cindy Haynes, Dr. Janique Mishael Ricketts and Bradley Orlando Lecky from Kingston; Kemoy Jorge Orlando Smith, Wayne Dave Mullings and Dean Lincoln Rhoden from St. Andrew; and Samantha Hardy, Rasalpha Stewart and Sygiosmund Morales Mayne from Portland.

The presentations were made by Governor-General, His Excellency the Honourable Professor Sir Kenneth Hall, at the Governor-General’s Achievement Awards Ceremony, held at the Jamaica Crest Resort in Portland on September 24.

In his address, Sir Kenneth Hall congratulated the awardees for the success they have achieved and exhorted other members of society to emulate the examples they have set.

He pointed out that the awards are given to persons who have done extraordinarily well in their communities, adding that the award for Youth Excellence, which has been recently added to the programme recently, is presented to two young persons from each parish in the 18 to 24 and 25 to 35 age groups.

His Excellency commended sponsors of the Governor-General Awards Programme, for the support they have provided over the years, noting that not only have they sponsored the programme, but have also taken time out to be in attendance at the presentation functions.

This, he said, is a strong indication of the commitment, which has driven them to give the support they have been providing over the years.

Responding on behalf of the awardees, Mr. Mayne thanked the Awards Committee for the honour it has bestowed on his fellow recipients and himself, and gave the assurance that they would continue to contribute to the process of community development.