Historic Swearing-In

On September 14, 2022, five members of the Judiciary were sworn in at King’s House in a brief ceremony. The occasion marks the first time in the history of Jamaica’s Judiciary, that members are sworn in under the name of King Charles III.

His Excellency The Governor-General (Centre) with Chief Justice Hon. Bryan Sykes (left) and Minister of Legal and Constitutional Affairs, Hon. Marlene Malahoo-Forte KC and President of the Court of Appeal Justice Hon. Patrick Brooks  (right). The newly appointed judges are: (Second right)The newly appointed Judge of Appeal Hon Justice Kissock Laing; (L-R) Acting Puisne Judges – His Honour Mr Dale Staple, Her Honour Miss Opal Smith, Master Stephany Orr and Master Marigot Mason.