ECJ Selected Commissioners Appointed

March 4, 2014

Governor-General His Excellency The Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen has appointed the following four persons to serve as the selected members of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ), effective March 1, 2014.  They are the Hon. Dorothy Pine McLarty, OJ, Mr. Earl Jarrett, CD, the Hon. Mr. Justice Karl Harrison (Ret’d), CD and Professor Alvin Wint.

M. Justice Harrison is a retired Court of Appeal judge and Professor Wint is Professor of International Business and Special Advisor to the Vice Chancellor of University of the West Indies.  They join Mr. Jarrett and the Mrs. Pine McLarty, both of whom served on the previous  ECJ,  and replace the two selected Commissioners who were not available for reappointment: Dr. Herbert Thompson CD and the Hon. Mr. Justice Clarence Walker, CD.

Below is the official gazetted notice:


His Excellency The Governor-General in exercise of the power vested in him by paragraph 1 (1) (b) of the First Schedule to the Electoral Commission (Interim) Act, 2006, after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, has appointed the following persons as Selected Commissioners of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica for a period of seven (7) years with effect from 1st March 2014:

§  The Hon. Dorothy Pine McLarty, OJ

§  Mr. Earl Jarrett, CD

§  The Hon. Mr. Justice Karl Harrison (Ret’d), CD

§  Professor Alvin Wint