Sir Patrick Awards Cornwall GGAA Recipients

His Excellency the Most Hon. Sir Patrick Allen on Thursday, August 28, presented the Governor-General’s Achievement Award to fourteen individuals from the County of Cornwall.  The GGAA, one of two programmes under the Governor-General’s Programme For Excellence, was held at the All American Institute of Medical Sciences in Black River St. Elizabeth.

In his address, The Governor-General said that the recipients were receiving the GGAA not as in a graduation but as in a commencement ceremony where they will continue giving of their best in all situations.

“They are individuals who have overcome odds and succeeded and are selflessly contributing to building their communities, young persons who have prevailed over difficulties and have excelled academically,” said Sir Patrick Allen.

He encouraged the recipients to be proud of their achievements as, to be bestowed with such an honour, is a testimony of their commitment to excellence. ” You have now joined the cadre of GGAA Awardees who continue to make their contribution to nation building,” he stated.

Sir Patrick, who has openly expressed his passion for influencing youth to strive for excellence, reminded the recipients that he remains encouraged by their selflessness as they have volunteered to contribute to their communities, often times with minimal resources and financial support. He went on to recognize the supporting bodies behind the successful hosting of the awards programme. Sir Patrick commended the programmes’ Corporate Sponsor: The Gleaner Company, The Jamaica National Building Society, the Victoria Mutual Society and the Scotia Jamaica Building Society which have remained faithfully supportive since 1991. He also welcomed its newest sponsor, the Jamaica Broilers Group.

In the midst of honouring some of Jamaica’s unsung heroes, Sir Patrick Allen paused to express his sincerest condolences and best wishes to the family of the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, the Hon. Roger Clarke, whose sudden death came as shock to the nation.

The fourteen recipients awarded at the GGAA Ceremony are: Allaina James, Swaine Esson, Pius Lacan, Cameil Campbell, Sandrene Hill, Marjorie James, Chevelle Griffiths, Cynthia Brown, Garenzo Toppin, Dr. Anthony Taylor, Veronica Jennings, Karon Lewis, Kimar Findlater, Branford Gayle.